It’s the last chance for the Northern Ireland public to nominate their favourite local sports stars in the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards.

Nominations for the popular awards, which celebrate the excellent achievements of local sportspeople from grass roots to elite sport, close on this Friday, December 9.

 Last year guests celebrated with top names in sport including amateur champion boxer Michael Conlan who won the Sports Star of Year and Hall of Fame winner Martin O’Neill and now the countdown is on to see who will lift the top titles for 2016.

The public can find out more about each of the 12 categories and the simple nomination process by visiting

All shortlisted finalists will be invited to come along to the February 6 awards evening at the Waterfront Hall, hosted by TV presenters Craig Doyle and Claire McCollum.

The purpose of the awards is to identify sporting achievement and recognise those individuals, teams and organisations whose contribution to local sport is outstanding. Nominations can be made by organisations, governing bodies of sport, regional councils, local sports councils and individuals.

Categories include:

  • Sports Star of the Year
  • Malcolm Brodie Player of the Year
  • Team of the Year
  • Young Player of the Year
  • Young Team of the Year, sponsored by Subway
  • Manager/Coach of the Year
  • Sports Person of the Year with a Disability
  • WJ ‘Paddy’ Patterson Services to Sport Award
  • George Best Breakthrough Award
  • Local Heroes
  • Hall of Fame
  • Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Volvo

Nominations can be submitted by email to or by post to Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards, c/o JComms, Sylvan House, 232 Belmont Road, Belfast, BT4 2AW. The closing date is Friday December 9 at 5pm.

To purchase tickets for the Gala Awards evening on 6th February 2017 contact JComms on 028 9076 0066 or email


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with it.